West Bengal cabinet ministers list: 8 women and 7 minority MLAs among Mamata’s 43 ministers | Kolkata News

KOLKATA: Chief minister Mamata Banerjee has struck a high-quality steadiness between expertise and recent faces, packing her council of 43 ministers with eight girls and 7 members from the minority group.
Whereas handpicking her workforce, Banerjee has had an eye fixed on district illustration. She has additionally undertaken some main modifications in portfolio distribution, presumably primarily based on public suggestions.

Like earlier, the CM has stored for herself just a few key departments resembling house, Hill affairs, well being and household welfare, land and land reforms, refugee reduction and rehabilitation, info and tradition, and north Bengal growth.

She has handed on minority growth and madrasa training to Ghulam Rabbani, three-time MLA from Goalpokhor in North Dinajpur.
Below the brand new association, larger training goes to Bratya Basu, prefer it was earlier than Partha Chatterjee had taken over, and college training to former Left Entrance minister-turned-Trinamool MLA Paresh Adhikary.
Retired IPS-turned-Trinamool MLA Humayun Kabir is the brand new technical training minister. Each Adhikary and Kabir are ministers of state.
Chandrima Bhattacharya has received impartial cost of city growth and municipal affairs, alongside along with her duties as MoS well being, land reforms. Amit Mitra will take care of finance.
He has been relieved of the commerce business portfolio that has been assigned to Partha Chatterjee, aside from parliamentary affairs.
Former city growth minister and Kolkata ex-mayor Firhad Hakim is the brand new transport and housing minister.
Aroop Biswas will deal with energy, sports activities and youth affairs whereas former energy minister Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay will handle the agriculture division.
Moloy Ghatak is the brand new public works division minister and also will deal with regulation and judicial portfolios. Ratna De Nag is the brand new setting minister.
Madhyamgram MLA Rathin Ghosh is the meals minister whereas Jyotipriya Mullick has been given forest portfolio.
Two inductions from East Midnapore embrace Soumen Mahapatra and Akhil Giri. Mahapatra is a Cabinetrank minister answerable for irrigation and Giri is MoS answerable for fisheries.
One other main inclusion within the Cupboard is Manas Bhuniya, Trinamool’s Rajya Sabha member.
He had served as Cupboard minister within the first Mamata Banerjee regime in 2011 until Congress (Bhuniya was then with Congress) pulled out of the federal government. Bhuniya is answerable for water sources and investigation division.
The opposite cupboard portfolios stay roughly the identical.
Trinamool veteran Subrata Mukherjee has panchayat and rural growth and likewise public enterprises whereas public well being engineering goes to Uluberia Dakshin MLA Pulak Roy, a brand new entrant.
Former cricketer Manoj Tiwari is minister of state for youth affairs.
The brand new council has illustration from backward courses, together with Adivasis, that had been a significant plank of the BJP.
Bulu Chik Baraik, Sandhya Tudu, Srikanta Mahato, Birbaha Hansda and Jyotsna Mandi are among the many distinguished inductees.

Scroll to Top