PM rejigs Cabinet panels; NDA allies largely ignored

Cupboard Committees on Safety and Appointments have been left untouched.

After a big scale rejig of his council of ministers, Prime Minister Narendra Modi effected some modifications in Cupboard committees to mirror the modifications with the inclusion of latest and elevation of sure older ministers (by way of tenure) in these essential committees, based on a notification by the Cupboard secretariat.

Ladies and Baby Improvement Minister Smriti Irani, Labour Minister Bhupendra Yadav, Rural Improvement Minister Giriraj Singh, Well being Minister Mansukh Mandaviya and Transport Minister Sarbananda Sonowal have been included within the all essential Cupboard Committee on Political Affairs (CCPA). Allies just like the Janata Dal (U) and the Lok Janshakti Occasion have been given a miss, though R.C.P. Singh of the JD(U) has been included in Cupboard Committee on Employment and Ability Improvement.

PM rejigs Cabinet panels; NDA allies largely ignored


CCEA diminished

The Cupboard Committee on Financial Affairs (CCEA), too, doesn’t have illustration from the NDA alliance companions, and has been shrunk from 11 members to eight, together with Training Minister Dharmendra Pradhan and Commerce Minister Piyush Goyal.

Ministers Virendra Kumar and Anurag Thakur have been included within the Cupboard Committee on Parliamentary Affairs headed by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh. Ministers of state for Parliamentary Affairs Arjun Ram Meghwal and V. Muraleedharan are particular invitees on this committee.

The Cupboard Committee on Funding and Progress, headed by the Prime Minister has seen the inclusion of ministers Narayan Rane, Jyotiraditya Scindia and Ashwini Vaishnaw, whereas the Cupboard Committee on Employment and Ability Improvement has new members in Bhupendra Yadav, G. Kishen Reddy together with Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw.

The essential Cupboard Committee on Safety has been left untouched with Prime Minister Narendra Modi on the helm together with Residence Minister Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Exterior Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar and Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman.

The Cupboard Committee on Appointments which decides on appointments from Joint Secretary stage and above, additionally stays untouched with Prime Minister Narendra Modi heading it, and Mr Shah as member.

Cupboard Committees are principally sub-committees throughout the Union Cupboard to take a look at particular remits and deliberate on varied points together with safety, economic system, and even deciding on dates for Parliament classes.

Scroll to Top