Outright Muslim votes to TMC, with whom are Dalits and Adivasis? Know the mathematics of votes in West Bengal elections

Within the West Bengal meeting elections, Mamata Banerjee gained 213 out of 292 seats, whereas final time the BJP was lowered to 77 seats on three seats. The evaluation of the outcomes exhibits that the Trinamool Congress was profitable in reuniting many Hindus, Adivasis and Dalit voters in South Bengal with 240 meeting constituencies, who supported the BJP within the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. However, in TMC, two TMC chief ministers misplaced, whereas the BJP gained 30 of the 54 seats.

After the outcomes on Monday, the Election Fee stated that TMC obtained 47.9 per cent of the votes in Bengal and BJP’s share of 38.1 per cent. There was a distinction of about 98 per cent votes in each the events. Even in 2011, when the TMC and the Congress contested, the Left Entrance acquired 7.four per cent much less votes.

In 2011 and 2016, TMC gained 184 and 211 seats respectively. The BJP couldn’t win any seats in 2011, however in 2016 it gained three seats. The saffron social gathering gained 18 of the 42 Lok Sabha seats within the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. In response to that consequence, the BJP was forward in 121 meeting seats, however the image modified in some districts throughout the 8-phase meeting election.

In North and South Bengal, the BJP acquired appreciable votes in areas adjoining to India-Bangladesh, the place Hindus from East Pakistan after 1947 and 1971 have a major inhabitants. This additionally occurred in Malda and Murshidabad the place Muslims have a excessive inhabitants. Muslims account for 51.27 per cent of the inhabitants in Malda district, BJP occupied Habibpur seat with 47.52 per cent votes, whereas TMC obtained 37.66 per cent votes right here. This is likely one of the 5 seats in Malda on which BJP gained, the remaining 7 seats went to TMC’s account. Within the adjoining Murshidabad, which is part of South Bengal, the share of Muslims within the inhabitants is 66.28 per cent, the very best amongst all districts of Bengal.

There are 294 seats in Bengal, however the votes have been solid in 292 seats, as two candidates died because of corona in Jangipur and Samsherganj. On Monday, the Election Fee deferred voting on each these seats indefinitely. The choice was first taken to carry the vote on 16 Might.

In Murshidabad district, BJP gained 2 out of 20 seats. These are the city seats of Murshidabad and Berhampur, the place Hindus have a excessive inhabitants. The success of the BJP in 2019 was attributed to its attain among the many higher Hindu castes, tribals and Dalits. The registered SC group within the state has the very best variety of Rajbanshis of North Bengal and Namasudras in South Bengal. BJP had tried its finest to deliver them into its courtroom. In Namasudra, four per cent of the inhabitants belongs to the Matua group.

There are 14 extra castes within the SC group in Bengal that aren’t a part of Rajbanshi or Namasudra. The TMC and BJP wager on strategic campaigning to garner votes from completely different castes, sub-castes, religions and linguistic teams.

The Junglemahal unfold over West Midnapore, Purulia, Bankura, and Jhargram districts additionally noticed a tricky struggle between the TMC and the BJP, whereas the BJP had extra success right here in 2019. There’s a good inhabitants of tribals right here. The Scheduled Tribe (ST) inhabitants within the state was greater than 50 lakhs within the 2011 census, which constitutes 5.Eight per cent of the full inhabitants. In the previous couple of years, Mamta Banerjee established a separate Welfare Board for the tribal communities. New roads, hospitals, faculties and polytechnic schools have been opened in these districts.

Bankura district with 13 meeting seats is a part of two Lok Sabha seats, Bankura and Bishnupar, which have been gained by BJP in 2019. The BJP additionally gained the Midnapore, Jhargram and Purulia seats. The meeting election outcomes confirmed that there was a tricky competitors within the tribal areas and the BJP captured 7 out of 12 seats in Bankura district. The competition was so shut that within the Bankura seat, BJP defeated the TMC candidate by lower than one % of the votes.

Within the adjoining Purulia district, TMC was capable of seize three seats, whereas 9 seats went to the BJP account. TMC made up for it in West Midnapore, the place it gained 13 seats, whereas BJT gained in Kharagpur and Ghatal seats. Someplace within the small district of Jhargram, TMC retained all four seats.

BJP state common secretary Sayantan Basu says, “Our efficiency in lots of districts of South Bengal like Purulia and Bankura has not deteriorated.” TMC left us behind in Kolkata, Howrah, Hooghly and South 24 Parganas districts. “These districts have a combined inhabitants of Hindus and Muslims.

Together with non secular polarization, caste politics was additionally an vital issue within the North 24 Parganas and Nadia districts, the place the Hindu Dalit group has a very good presence. In 2019, BJP gained the Nadia and Ranaghat and Bangaon Lok Sabha seats of North 24 Parganas by securing majority of Dalit votes.

To draw Dalits, the saffron social gathering promised to implement the CAA in Bengal in order that the folks of the Matua group, who’re a part of the Namasudra group, got here as refugees from Bangladesh. BJP MP from Bongaon and All India Matua Mahasangh chief Shantanu Thakur stated, “The outcomes confirmed that the Matua group remained with the BJP.”

Scroll to Top