Of 31 Muslim MLAs elected to Assam Assembly, none belong to BJP and allies

Aminul Haque Laskar, BJP’s solely Muslim MLA in 2016, misplaced to AIUDF.

The treasury bench of the 126-member Assam Meeting will for the primary time in at the very least 50 years haven’t any Muslim consultant. The BJP had fielded eight Muslim candidates, however all of them misplaced.

The troika of the BJP, the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and the Bodoland Individuals’s Entrance (BPF) had the lone Muslim face in Aminul Haque Laskar amongst their 86 elected representatives in 2016. The BJP dumped the BPF and befriended the United Individuals’s Get together Liberal for mandate 2021.

Mr. Laskar, who went on to turn into the Deputy Speaker within the 126-member Meeting, misplaced the Sonai seat within the Bengali-dominated Barak Valley to Karim Uddin Barbhuiya of the All India United Democratic Entrance (AIUDF) by a margin of 19,654 votes.

The AIUDF was the principal ally of the Congress within the 10-party ‘Mahajot’ or grand alliance that challenged the BJP and its allies this time however might win 50 seats. The BJP-plus received 75 whereas the jailed Akhil Gogoi, president of the newly-formed Raijor Dal, bagged the Sibsagar seat.

Elements behind defeat

Spiritual polarisation of votes and the consolidation of Muslim votes in favour of the Congress-AIUDF are stated to have been elements behind Mr. Laskar’s defeat.

The Opposition bench, alternatively, may have 31 Muslim MLAs this time, the second-highest after the 33 who had been elected within the controversial 1983 elections held in the course of the peak of the Assam Agitation. The agitating organisations had boycotted the polls that 12 months, with seven candidates declared winners unopposed and fewer than 20% of voters turning up in a number of constituencies.

Of the 31 Muslim victors of the Mahajot, 16 had been fielded by the Congress and 15 by the AIUDF. The 2 events received 29 and 16 seats, each enhancing upon their 2016 efficiency by three seats every.

However whereas the strike price of the AIUDF – it contested 20 seats – was 80%, that of the Congress (95 seats contested) was 30.52%.

“There was a story in Assam that Muslims will some day take over many of the constituencies. Truth is, probably the most they’ll win is 35-36 seats if the constituencies stay as they’re. Other than 1983, the variety of Muslim representatives within the Meeting has often hovered across the 25 mark,” political scientist Prasant Rajguru stated.

The narrative picked up steam after 27 Muslims had been elected in 1978, which ‘nationalist’ teams discovered was alarmingly excessive in comparison with the 21 seats they received in 1972. It was one of many triggers of the Assam Agitation that started to affiliate “unlawful immigrants” with “Bangladeshis” aka Muslims.

Scroll to Top