MK Stalin says mediapersons will be considered COVID-19 frontline workers

A number of state governments have made related bulletins within the final couple of days.

DMK chief and to-be Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu MK Stalin introduced that every one journalists will likely be henceforth thought-about frontline staff. His announcement got here a day after the DMK gained the Meeting elections in Tamil Nadu, placing an finish to the 10-year rule of the AIADMK.

In a tweet on his official Twitter deal with, MK Stalin mentioned that the members of the media who work exhausting no matter the climate and the pandemic will likely be thought-about frontline staff. “The entitlements and assist which might be being offered to frontline staff will likely be offered to the members of the media as nicely,” he tweeted in Tamil. On Could 3, the to-be Chief Minister of West Bengal Mamata Banerjee declared all journalists within the state as ‘COVID warriors’. Her announcement got here hours after Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan declared all journalists as frontline staff.

In accordance with a report, as many as 101 journalists in India have succumbed to COVID-19 since April 1, 2020 of which at the very least 52 journalists have died since April 1, 2021. Regardless of the plain dangers that journalists face on the bottom whereas masking the pandemic, the Union Authorities has not declared them as frontline staff. Because of this, journalists weren’t eligible to obtain vaccinations on precedence foundation, thus exposing them to the virus. The Editors Guild of India has repeatedly requested the Union authorities to announce vaccinations for mediapersons on precedence, however the Union authorities is but to contemplate the requests. 

The DMK alliance gained 159 seats within the Meeting elections that simply concluded in Tamil Nadu. The DMK gained 133 seats, Congress gained in 18 seats, the VCK gained in 4 seats, whereas the Communist events (CPI and CPI (M)) gained in two seats every. The AIADMK alliance in the meantime, gained 75 seats, of which the AIADMK gained 66 seats. The PMK gained in 5 seats whereas the BJP gained in 4 seats.

A number of AIADMK ministers misplaced the elections whereas distinguished leaders like outgoing Chief Minister Edappadi Ok Palaniswami gained of their respective constituencies by large margins. 

Present us some love and assist our journalism by changing into a TNM Member – Click on right here.

Scroll to Top