Mamata shuffles around few ministers, retains key portfolios

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Monday unveiled her new council of ministers as 43 Trinamool Congress (TMC) leaders had been sworn in at a low-key ceremony in Raj Bhavan in Kolkata.

Banerjee retained key portfolios similar to House and Hill Affairs, Personnel and Administration, Well being and Household Welfare, Land, Refugee and Rehabilitation, Info and Cultural Affairs, and North Bengal Improvement. She gave up the Minority Affairs and Madrasah Schooling Division to Mohammed Gulam Rabbani.

Of the 43 ministers, 24 are of the Cupboard rank, 10 are ministers of state with impartial cost, and 9 are ministers of state (MoS).

“We now have inducted 16 new ministers within the Cupboard. There are 9 ladies ministers [including Banerjee], seven ministers symbolize the minority neighborhood and 4 every are from the SC and ST communities,” Banerjee mentioned after the oath-taking ceremony.

Amit Mitra, Bratya Basu, and Rathin Ghosh had been sworn in just about. Whereas Mitra is unwell and suffers from Power Obstructive Pulmonary Illness (COPD), each Basu and Ghosh are recuperating from Covid-19.

Mitra stays the finance minister and also will head the Division of Planning and Statistics & Programme Monitoring. Among the many different senior ministers, Subrata Mukherjee retained the Panchayat and Rural Improvement division, and was given the extra cost of Public Enterprises and Industrial Reconstruction whereas Firhad Hakim was appointed the Minister of Transport, and Housing. The MoS (Unbiased cost) for Well being, Chandrima Bhattacharya, took over from him within the City Improvement and Municipal Affairs division.

Partha Chatterjee retained the Parliamentary Affairs division however was changed as Minister of Schooling by Bratya Basu, who had the 2 portfolios which might be the duty of the minister from 2011 to 2013.

Chatterjee, who’s among the many senior-most ministers within the authorities, will even head the departments of Info Know-how and Electronics, and Trade, Commerce and Enterprise.

Mamata Banerjee appointed Rathin Ghosh, one of many new ministers, the Meals and Provides minister. His predecessor Jyotipriyo Mallick, throughout whose tenure the federal government confronted a backlash over a ration rip-off, was appointed the brand new Minister of Forest. Mallick will even head the Non-Typical and Renewable Power Sources division. On the forest division, he shall be assisted by Jhargram MLA and Santhali actor Birbaha Hansda.

Shashi Panja, the one one of many eight ladies ministers (excluding the chief minister) to get a Cupboard rank, will proceed because the Minister for Ladies and Little one Improvement and Social Welfare.

Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay was appointed the Minister of Agriculture whereas his Energy portfolio was handed over to Minister of Sports activities Aroop Biswas as an extra cost. Biswas was the sports activities minister within the earlier tenure too. This time, he shall be assisted by former India cricketer and MoS Manoj Tiwari.

BJP chief Suvendu Adhikari’s detractor and TMC Purba Medinipur district president Akhil Giri, who’s one other huge identify among the many 16 new ministers, was made MoS for Fisheries (Unbiased cost). Former IPS officer Humayun Kabir, who gave up his profession within the police to hitch politics and win from Debra, was positioned in control of the Division of Technical Schooling, Coaching, and Ability Improvement.

The chief minister appointed senior North Bengal chief Biplab Mitra — one other huge identify among the many debutant ministers — on the helm of the Agricultural Advertising division. Senior chief Manas Bhunia, who was a minister within the TMC-Congress authorities that got here to energy in 2011, was positioned in control of Water Sources Investigation and Improvement. The Irrigation and Waterways division went to Soumen Kumar Mahapatra.

Sadhan Pande was retained because the Minister of Client Affairs & Self Assist Group and Self Employment whereas Asansol Uttar MLA Moloy Ghatak retained the Legislation and Judicial division whereas taking on the Public Works division from Aroop Biswas. His Labour portfolio was handed over to MoS (Unbiased cost) Becharam Manna.

Among the many different notable names, Bankim Chandra Hazra was given the Sundarbans Affairs division whereas Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises and Textiles went to Chandranath Sinha. Salboni MLA Srikant Mahato is the MoS for MSME and Textile.

Mamata Banerjee stored Sujit Bose on the helm of the hearth division whereas Indranil Sen will proceed as tourism minister. Sen will even proceed to be an MoS for info and cultural affairs.

Pandua MLA Ratna De Nag was positioned in control of the departments of surroundings, and science and expertise and biotechnology. Manbazar MLA Sandhyarani Tudu was made the MoS (Unbiased cost) of Paschimanchal Unnayan Affairs. She will even be the junior minister within the Parliamentary Affairs division.

Bulu Chik Baraik, the MLA from Malbazar in north Bengal, was appointed MoS (impartial cost) for the backward lessons welfare and tribal improvement division.

Keshpur MLA Seuli Saha is the brand new MoS of Panchyat and Rural Improvement whereas Akhruzzaman, the Raghunathganj MLA, would be the MoS for Energy. Mekhliganj MLA Paresh Chandra Adhikary was named the MoS for Faculty Schooling whereas Mothabhari legislator Sabina Yasmin will help Soumen Mahapatra on the Irrigation and Waterways division. As an MoS, Yasmin will even take care of the division of North Bengal Improvement.

Whereas Ranibandh MLA Jyotsna Mandi was named the MoS for Meals and Provides Bishnupur MLA Dilip Mondal is MoS Transport.

Later within the day, the chief minister introduced that Nirmal Ghosh and Tapas Roy could be the TMC’s chief whip and deputy chief whip within the Meeting. Ashish Banerjee would be the deputy speaker.

— With PTI Inputs


Scroll to Top