Mafoi Pandiarajan to CV Shanmugam: 10 AIADMK ministers who faced defeat on May 2

For these 10 ministers, this election meant the tip of a future within the Legislative Meeting.

For the AIADMK, which fought tooth and nail to retain energy in Tamil Nadu, the choice of its residents to elect the DMK to energy got here as a blow on Sunday. With 64 seats, excluding these received by its allies, it stood far behind the DMK which single-handedly received 124 constituencies. However what got here as an excellent greater shock was the defeat of a number of of the get together’s ministers, who had been fielded with the hope {that a} robust chief may win over folks’s confidence.

Whereas leaders together with Edappadi Palaniswami, O Panneerselvam and Sengottaiyan managed to come back out of their battles comparatively unscathed, for 10 ministers this election meant the tip of a future within the Legislative Meeting.

D Jayakumar, Fisheries Minister
Constituency: Royapuram

After successful from this ticket 4 occasions consecutively, Jayakumar was in for a impolite shock this election. He managed to win solely 30% of the vote whereas DMK’s R Murthy, a lesser recognized face, managed to safe over 50% of the full votes.

Benjamin, Minister for Faculty Schooling, Sports activities and Youth Welfare
Constituency: Maduravoyal

Benjamin was defeated by DMK’s Ganapathy Ok by over 31,721 votes, with MNM’s Padmapriya coming third on this ballot battle.

Mafoi Pandiarajan, Tamil language and tradition minister
Constituency : Avadi

Pandiarajan, who was amongst the few insurgent MLAs (after supporting O Panneerselvam in 2017) to get a ministerial berth, was trailing from the very starting in opposition to DMK’s Nasar SM in Avadi. He managed to safe solely 31.57% of the votes, in comparison with the DMK candidate’s 49.94%.

MC Sampath, Industries Minister
Constituency: Cuddalore

Sampath misplaced his election in Cuddalore by a margin of 5,000 votes to DMK’s G Iyappan, who secured 84,563 votes. Naam Tamilar Katchi’s candidate Jaladeepan, in the meantime, got here third with 9490 votes.

C V Shanmugam, Regulation Minister
Constituency: Villupuram

DMK’s Lakshmanan R received on this constituency with a vote share of near 50%. Shanmugam was not too far behind at 42.66%, however with Naam Tamilar Katchi and Makkal Needhi Maiam additionally claiming votes, the minister confronted defeat.

KC Veeramani, Business Taxes Minister
Constituency: Jolarpet

 KC Veeramani of the AIADMK misplaced to DMK’s Ok Devaraji by a mere 906 votes in Jolarpet after 24 rounds of counting.

VM Rajalakshmi, Adi Dravida Welfare Minister
Constituency: Sankarankovil

Ballot debutant E Raja of DMK defeated Minister for Adi Dravida Welfare VM Rajalakshmi by a margin of 5,354 votes on Sunday. With this victory, DMK wrested Sankarankovil from the AIADMK, which has been in energy there for over 30 years.  

Vellamandi Natarajan, Tourism Minister
Constituency: Tiruchirapalli (East)

It was a thumping victory for DMK’s Inigo Irudayaraj, who received 54% of the vote share whereas Natarajan was decreased to 23% of the full vote share.

Rajenthra Balaji, Dairy Growth Minister
Constituency: Rajapalayam

The Minister misplaced by a margin of near 4000 votes to DMK’s Thangapandian S. The election was predicted to be a troublesome one for Balaji, who was contesting from Rajapalayam for the primary time. 


Present us some love and help our journalism by turning into a TNM Member – Click on right here.

Scroll to Top