Congress’s debacle in Kerala: Rahul’s poor performance in Wayanad, disappointment on the seaboard too

In Kerala, there’s a change of energy each 5 years, however this might not occur on this meeting election. Kerala selected to stick with the Left Democratic Entrance. The ruling entrance has given a humiliating defeat to the Congress-led UDF within the state. The alliance, which received 19 out of 20 seats within the Lok Sabha elections, received solely 41 seats. The UDF’s efficiency was restricted to solely Ernakulam and Kottayam.

Actually, the UDF’s main social gathering Congress has carried out the worst. Half of the 93 seats the place the Congress contested have been fielding new and younger faces. Solely 21 of them have received. The state of affairs was related in Rahul Gandhi’s Wayanad Lok Sabha seat. Of the seven seats wherein Wayanad campaigned extensively, Rahul misplaced three of the elections. Congress state president Mullappally Ramachandran described the defeat as sudden.

Within the southern districts of Thiruvananthapuram and Kollam, the Congress received solely three of the 25 seats. The largest setback for the social gathering has been in Thiruvananthapuram. Right here Janpathipathya, a minor ally of LDF, Antony Raju of Kerala Congress defeated VS Shivakumar of Congress. S Sabarinathan, the younger face of the Congress and a two-time legislator, misplaced to CPM native chief G Stephen, who needed to face opposition from throughout the social gathering. Additionally within the Alappuzha district of opposition chief Ramesh Chennithala, the Congress victory was restricted to his seat.

Congress had hoped to wave in its favor in coastal areas within the southern districts, because the fishermen group was indignant with the LDF authorities over an settlement with US corporations for deep-sea fishing. The Catholics of Alappuzha and Kollam have been overtly in opposition to the deal in the course of the election, with the Congress hoping to achieve in 40-odd coastal areas in Kerala. Nevertheless, this didn’t occur.

Even within the districts of North Kerala, the Congress couldn’t enhance its place. In Kozhikode district, the social gathering couldn’t win a single seat. Then again, IUML received 17 out of 27 seats wherein it retained its maintain over the stronghold of Malappur district. Final time it contested 23 seats and received 18 seats.

The PJ Joseph-led Kerala Congress received solely two of the 10 seats. The dropping UDF leaders have been KM Shaji (IUML), VT Balaram (Congress), Anil Akkara (Congress) and KS Sabarinathan (Congress).

That is the second setback for the Congress after its defeat within the native physique elections in December. Many social gathering leaders admitted that it was a do-or-die battle. After the December loss, the Congress fielded former Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, making him the chairman of the election committee.

Scroll to Top