Congress wins 18 seats in 2021 Tamil Nadu Assembly elections

As a part of their alliance with DMK, Congress contested from 25 constituency seats and the Kanyakumari Lok Sabha seat.

Within the run as much as the 2021 Meeting elections in Tamil Nadu, it took many days of negotiation for the Congress and DMK to finalise their seat sharing association. As a part of the alliance, it was lastly determined that Congress would contest from 25 constituency seats and the Kanyakumari Lok Sabha seat. Now, by successful 18 seats within the elections and the Lok Sabha seat, the occasion may very well be a serious drive within the formation of the Tamil Nadu authorities led by DMK chief MK Stalin. 

This time the Congress acquired 4.29% of the whole vote share within the state. And adjusted the development from 2016, when Congress managed to win solely eight seats of the 41 contested seats in alliance with DMK.

The Congress gained in Ponneri, Sriperumbudur, Sholingur, Erode (East), Udhagamandalam, Vriddhachalam, Aranthangi, Karaikudi, Sivakasi, Tiruvadanai, Srivaikuntam, Nanguneri, Killiyoor, Tenkasi, Colachel, Velachery, Mayiladuthurai and Vilavancode constituencies.

The occasion fielded a number of vital faces and family members of Congress officer-bearers, a lot of whom gained. This together with Aranthangi candidate ST Ramachandran, who’s the son of MP Su Thirunavukkarasar; Erode (East) candidate Thirumurugan Evera, who’s the son of former TNCC president EVKS Elangovan; and Srivaikuntam candidate Urvasi S Amirtharaj, who’s the son of late Congress MLA Selvaraj.

The granddaughter of Kavimani Desigavinayagam Pillai, Vijayadharani was fielded from Vilavancode and the two-time MLA secured a hat trick win from the constituency. Vijayadharani was the one girl candidate from the Congress in Tamil Nadu and he or she recieved 52.12% of the votes in her constituency, beating BJP’s Jayaseelan R.

Equally, Congress fielded Vijay Vasanth within the Kanyakumari Lok Sabha seat, which fell vacant after his father MP Vasanthakumar succumbed to COVID-19. The primary-time contestant gained the seat, beating former MP and Union Minister of State for Highway Transport and Highways Pon Radhakrishnan. 

Nevertheless, Congress occasion contestants misplaced to AIADMK opponents in Uthangarai, Kallakurichi, Omalur, Udumalaipettai, Melur and Srivilliputhur constituencies. The Congress contestant Mayura Jayakumar misplaced to BJP in a troublesome three-way battle in Coimbatore (South) constituency. He misplaced to Vanathi Srinivasan and was pushed to third place after MNM’s Kamal Haasan.

Present us some love and help our journalism by turning into a TNM Member – Click on right here.

Scroll to Top