BJP’s Bengal poll tally to go down to 75; two MPs who contested to resign

The Bharatiya Janata Get together’s (BJP) tally within the West Bengal meeting will go right down to 75 from the prevailing 77 as two Lok Sabha members who contested the polls will resign to stay within the Parliament, HT has learnt.

The MPs are Nisith Pramanik from Cooch Behar Lok Sabha constituency in north Bengal’s Cooch Behar district and Jagannath Sarkar, the MP from Ranaghat in south Bengal’s Nadia district. Whereas Pramanik contested the Dinhata seat in Cooch Behar, Sarkar was fielded from Shantipur in Nadia.

The BJP did exceptionally properly within the north Bengal area, successful 30 of the 54 meeting seats. It suffered in south Bengal the place 240 seats helped the TMC win the polls.

Though the BJP’s different newly-elected MLAs took oath alongside the 213 TMC legislators final week, Pramanik and Sarkar didn’t come to Kolkata. The BJP state management mentioned some MLAs needed to keep of their constituencies within the wake of post-poll violence however the absence of the 2 MPs triggered speculations that they may not resign from Parliament since holding on to 2 Lok Sabha seats in Bengal is extra necessary for the BJP in view of the meeting ballot outcomes.

In 2019, the BJP bagged 18 of Bengal’s 42 Lok Sabha seats and created a report.

The saffron camp had vowed to oust the TMC authorities by successful greater than 200 seats. The ultimate verdict, nonetheless, got here as a setback though the occasion’s star candidate and former TMC minister Suvendu Adhikari defeated Trinamool Congress (TMC) supremo Mamata Banerjee in East Midnapore district’s Nandigram by 1,900 votes.

The meeting elections have been held in 292 of the state’s 294 seats as two candidates at two seats in Murshidabad district died of Covid-19 through the unprecedented eight-phase polling. Polls in these constituencies can be held later. As soon as Pramanik and Sarkar resign as MLAs, recent polls should be performed of their constituencies as properly. Mamata Banerjee, too, has to get elected to the meeting to stay a chief minister. The identical rule applies to finance minister Amit Mitra who didn’t contest the polls. He nearly took oath on Monday.

“We now have to observe the selections of our occasion,” Pramaik mentioned on Tuesday.

“Staying in Parliament is extra necessary, feels the management,” added Sarkar.

Within the meeting polls, BJP sprang a shock by naming Union minister Babul Supriyo, three different sitting Lok Sabha members and Rajya Sabha member Swapan Dasgupta alongside a number of actors and former TMC leaders in its record of candidates. Two Lok Sabha MPs, Supriyo and Locket Chatterjee misplaced the polls. Dasgupta, who needed to resign from the Rajya Sabha to contest, was defeated too.

Whereas Supriyo is a two-time MP, Chatterjee, Pramanik and Sarkar went to the Lok Sabha for the primary time in 2019.

Pramanik contested from Dinhata towards the TMC’s Udayan Guha, who was a minister through the Left Entrance period and left his occasion, the Ahead Bloc, to affix the ruling occasion after 2011. After the polls, Guha was injured in an assault, allegedly carried out by BJP employees, in Dinhata city. His proper arm obtained fractured.

“Given the wave it’s using proper now, the TMC is prone to win all of the seats the place recent polls can be held,” mentioned Kolkata-based political science professor and ballot analyst Udayan Bandopadhyay.

TMC leaders didn’t react to the potential for the Dinhata and Shantipur seats falling vacant.

Scroll to Top