Assam Chief Minister Himanta Sarma Assigns Portfolios To 13 Ministers

New Assam Chief Minister Himanta Sarma has given himself House however assigned away Well being (File)


New Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma assigned portfolios to his cupboard on Tuesday, a day after he was sworn in. Mr Sarma retained PWD from the final time period, as additionally House, Personnel and “different departments not allotted to every other minister of his cupboard.

The council of ministers includes 11 from the BJP, two from alliance accomplice AGP (Asom Gana Parishad) and one from the UPPL (United Folks’s Get together Liberal).

Mr Sarma has given away the Finance, Well being and Training posts, which he held within the final authorities, to Ajanta Neog (a former Congress colleague), Keshab Mahanta (from ally Asom Gana Parishad) and Ranoj Pegu (a first-time minister), respectively.

Ajanta Neog turns into the primary lady to carry the Finance portfolio for the Assam authorities. She can also be the one lady in Mr Sarma’s cupboard. As well as, she will even deal with Social Welfare.

Mr Mahanta has additionally been given Science & Know-how and Info & Know-how.

Mr Pegu has been given further cost of Welfare of Tribes and Backward Lessons within the non-Bodoland Territorial Area.

From final yr’s cupboard, AGP president Atul Bora has retained Agriculture and Horticulture, and Animal Husbandry and Veterinary, whereas additionally getting Border Space Growth and Implementation of Assam Accord, and Cooperation.

The BJP’s Chandra Mohan Patowary, a minister within the earlier authorities, has been allotted Transport, Industries and Commerce, Talent Growth and Welfare of Minorities.

Get together colleague Parimal Suklabaidya was given the cost of Setting and Forests, Fisheries, and Excise, the identical division he held within the earlier authorities.

BJP state chief Ranjeet Kumar Dass has been given Panchayat and Rural Growth, Public Well being Engineering, Meals and Civil Provides, and Client Affairs.

The UPPL is represented via former Rajya Sabha MP Urkhao Gwra Brahma, who will get Handloom and Textile, Soil Conservation, and Welfare of Plain Tribe and Backward Lessons.

Final time period’s Ministers of State – Pijush Hazarika, Jogen Mohan and Sanjay Kishan – have been promoted to cupboard ministers.

Mr Hazarika had been given Water Sources, Info and Public Relations, and Parliamentary Affairs. Mr Mohan obtained Income and Catastrophe Administration, Hills Space Growth, and Mines and Minerals. Mr Kishan obtained Welfare of Tea Tribes, Labour and Employment.

Amongst first-time ministers, Ashok Singhal will get Guwahati Growth, City Growth and Irrigation, and Bimal Bora Sports activities and Youth Welfare, Cultural Affairs, Energy and Tourism.

Scroll to Top