2 West Bengal BJP MPs resign as MLAs

BJP Lok Sabha MPs Jagannath Sarkar and Nisith Pramanik on Wednesday tendered their resignation as members of the West Bengal meeting, to which they have been elected within the current polls.

Sarkar and Pramanik, MPs of Ranaghat and Cooch Behar respectively, went to the meeting and submitted their resignation letters to Speaker Biman Banerjee.

Pramanik stated that they’re quitting as MLAs as per the directive of the BJP management.

The saffron celebration had additionally fielded two different Lok Sabha MPs – Union minister Babul Supriyo and Locket Chatterjee and Rajya Sabha member Swapan Dasgupta however they misplaced the election.

The saffron celebration bagged 77 seats whereas the Trinamool Congress secured a landslide victory successful 213 of the 292 constituencies that went to polls. Election was countermanded in two seats as a result of demise of candidates.

“The BJP has risen from simply three MLAs (within the 2016 elections) to 77 MLAs. As a way to add expertise in working the federal government, some MPs had been fielded,” Sarkar stated.

Nonetheless, the celebration couldn’t obtain its purpose of forming the federal government within the state, he stated.

Sarkar asserted that their preventing the meeting election regardless of being MPs after which resigning after successful don’t mirror any organisational weak point of the BJP.

Pramanik stated that they can not stay members of each the Lok Sabha and the state meeting concurrently.

Whereas Pramanik received within the meeting election by a wafer-thin margin of simply 57 votes defeating TMC candidate Udayan Guha from the Dinhata seat, Sarkar received by a cushty margin of 15,878 votes from Santipur.

Dinhata and Santipur meeting segments fall inside the respective Lok Sabha constituencies of Pramanik and Sarkar.

Scroll to Top